The traveler who passes through Post today may not notice that it differs from any other small town of the high plains of West Texas. However, it does! With it's rich history , historical landmarks, and attractions, Post is today a well known place to visit.
Post, Texas, founded in 1907 by cereal magnate Charles William Post, was truly a "dream city". His vision drew him to one of the most beautiful locations in West Texas - the area where the head waters of both arms of the Brazos River join to outline the scenic caprock escarpment of the Llano Estacado. Here C.W. Post carved a county of our nature's provisions which provided a home for cattlemen, plentiful oil and bountiful cotton.
Post today is the county seat of Garza County. Post, Texas is nestled three miles below the Cap Rock, 40 miles Southeast of Lubbock, on Highway 84. Thus post became known as the gateway to the plains of West Texas. Most of the downtown buildings still standing in Post today were constructed between 1907 and 1937. They include the Algerita Hotel, the C.W. Post Double U Building, and the old First National Bank Building. Four of the historic buildings have been restored in the last three years.
Within this historic West Texas "dream city", C.W. Post envisioned a community that might enrich the citizens with cultural offerings. Among the most outstanding attractions to visitors are the Garza County Museum located in West Texas' first sanitarium and the OS Museum housed in the first general offices of C.W. Post that exhibits art and artifacts from around the world from the collection of Giles C. McCrary and family. Through the community's dedication to its rich history and its commitment to the future, Post was awarded a "Texas Main Street City" designation in 1987. Through the project's economic development and renovation efforts, numerous downtown buildings have been restored that house gift shops, clothing stores, speciality shops and restaurants. The streetscape, also a Main Street Project, boasts streetlights, benchs, trees and shrubs through five blocks of our historic district.
For visitors searching for recreational activities, the three day Post Stampede Rodeo held in early August offers entertainment for cowboys and non cowboys as well. It offers visitors a view of the Old West in true cowboy style.
City Park is a beautiful location on Hwy 84 S and offers playground, swimming pool, cooking facilities and family entertainment and recreation. Across from the park, you can see the various baseball and little league fields and our newest high school baseball facility "The Norm Cash Field".
Within 30 minutes of Post are two lakes, White River Lake to the North and Lake Alan Henry to the South. Abundant hunting is also available on local ranches for dove, quail, deer, and some exotics.
The friendly people of Post invite you to explore the opportunities we offer to visitors who want to connect our city's grand past with its dramatic future. (Copy courtesy of the City of Post.)
Many do not know that in the years before World War I, Post City, as it was called then, was becoming widely known throughout the nation as the town being planned and built by C.W. Post, the well known cereal magnate from Battle Creek.
Charles William Post (October 26, 1854 - May 9, 1914) also known as C. W. Post, was an American breakfast cereal and foods manufacturer and a pioneer in the prepared-food industry. In 1895, he founded Postum Cereal Co., with his first product, Postum cereal beverage. Post's first breakfast cereal premiered in 1897, and he named the product Grape Nuts cereal because of the grape-like aroma noticed during the manufacturing process and the nutty crunch of the finished product.
In 1908, he followed up the Grape Nuts label with a brand of corn flakes first called Elijah's Manna that was later renamed Post Toasties.
C.W. Post's business produced one of the largest fortunes of the early 20th century. He married Ella Letitia Merriweather. Their only child, Marjorie Merriweather Post, married Edward F. Hutton and owned a 177-acre (0.72 km2) estate on Long Island's North Shore called "Hillwood." Marjorie sold the estate in 1951 for two-hundred-thousand dollars to Long Island University, which founded C.W. Post College in 1954 on the 100th anniversary of C. W. Post's birth. Currently the C.W. Post Campus of Long Island University has about 8,500 full- and part-time students with an alumni of over ninety-seven-thousand students.
(Copy courtesy of the City of Post with excerpts taken from Wikipedia: C.W. Post.)